top of page
  • Writer's pictureADMIN


The Government of Eswatini, in pursuit of equity in the use of resources in the education sector and the development of the Eswatini economy, continues to provide scholarship loans to students wishing to undertake tertiary education studies in recognized tertiary institutions in Eswatini and as well other African Universities and overseas countries ( mainly through Joint Bilateral Agreements with various countries).

The demand for Government scholarship loans has increased rapidly over the years. far exceeding the funds available for scholarships. This has put a strain on Government resources consequently resulting in the need for Government to more carefully target priority areas for the award of scholarships to students.

Application Procedure

The procedure for applying for scholarship loan is generally the same, whether the student wishes to study in the country, in South Africa or in other recognized Universities. It is slightly different when the student intends to study abroad, under the Joint Bilateral Agreement programme. However, in all cases the process involves three major steps, which are as follows:-

(i) Completion of Scholarship Application Form

(ii) Applying and getting a written acceptance letter from a recognized tertiary institution

(iii) Presenting the application form for a scholarship to the Scholarship Secretariat currently housed at the at the Ministry of Education (3rd Floor) with all the necessary attachments

Students are cautioned to start as early as possible to complete the form as it involves consultations with and endorsement of several key witnesses such as the Chief or Indvuna of the students. Students are expected to submit the Application form, with all the necessary attachments by the 30 June of each year (if requiring scholarships to study in local institutions) or 31st December of each year for those requiring scholarship to study in South Africa and the rest of Africa.

All Scholarship Application Forms should be accompanied by the following attachments:

● Certified copies of the applicant’s birth and academic certificates and/or symbols

● Certified copies of the applicant’s I.D. Card or Personal Identification Number (PIN) A current passport sized photo

● An original University/College acceptance letter

● A Graded Tax Certificate


  1. UNESWA (degree): Agriculture, Commerce, Health Science, Education, Humanities, Science, Social Science, Social Work

  2. ECOT (diploma): Architecture, automotive, building studies, civil engineering, computer science, electronics and electrical engineering, hospitality and tourism, HR, office management, panel beating, quantity surveying, teaching, telecommunications

  3. SANU (diploma and degree): medical laboratory science, nursing and midwifery, pharmacy, primary teaching

  4. WILLEM PITCHER TEACHER TRAINING COLLEGE (diploma): primary and secondary teaching

  5. NGWANE TEACHERS COLLEGE (diploma): early childhood care and development music, primary teaching

  6. GOOD SHEPHERD NURSING COLLEGE (diploma): general nursing, pharmacy

  7. SCMU (degree): computer science, medical laboratory science, nursing science, pharmacy, psychology and counselling, radiography, social work

  8. LIMKOKWING (associate degree*): architectural technology, business information technology, business management, creative multi-media, events management, graphic design, hotel management, information technology, international tourism, music design, public relations, TV and film production

  9. VOCTIM (diploma): building construction, business finance and accounting, carpentry, electrical installation, mechanical and manufacturing engineering, motor vehicle engineering, plumbing

  10. RSTP: software engineering, animation, hardware and networking, information security and ethical hacking, cyber security and network forensics

  11. EMRC: emergency medical care certificate, diploma and degree


The Government of Swaziland recognizes the following Universities in South Africa and the rest of Africa:

  1. Tshwane University of Technology

  2. University of North West, Vaal University of Technology

  3. University of Johannesburg

  4. Stellenbosch University, Rhodes University

  5. University of KwaZulu Natal

  6. University of Witwatersrand

  7. University of Cape Town

  8. University of Limpopo (Medunsa)

  9. University of Pretoria

  10. Nelson Mandela Metropolitan

  11. University of Fort Hare and all Universities in the other SADC countries.


  1. Students who do not meet the entry requirements for local tertiary institutions will not be considered for a scholarship award to study in South Africa, in Africa and abroad

  2. No student shall be awarded a scholarship before or without appearing before the Scholarship Selection Board.

  3. Only O’ Level, SGCSE, HIGSCE, Matric and or A’ Level results shall be considered for scholarship award and a point system shall be used to grade students according to performance.

  4. The basic minimum requirements for scholarship award shall be five (5) credits obtained in not more than two sittings for both Diploma and Degree courses offered locally, in South Africa, the rest of Africa and abroad.

  5. Entry qualifications obtained more than five (5) years ago will not be considered for award of scholarship. In addition, no scholarship will be awarded to mature entry students.

  6. Scholarships shall be for the programme/course and duration approved as indicated in the Study Loan Agreement Form

  7. Students who wish to change programmes shall be required to appear before the Scholarship Selection Board.

1,126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page