top of page
  • Writer's pictureADMIN




A Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship is a unique opportunity to study for a two-years Master’s degree in low or middle-income country of the Commonwealth. Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships are a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, to broaden horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to the shared challenges we face – both in their home countries and those that host them. As an active part of the Commonwealth network, scholars will help shape its future.

Applications are now open and will close 9 July, 4:00 (UTC +1) . Please read the FAQ's and the marking guidance when completing your application. We are aware of the current situation regarding COVID-19. Scholars will be advised to travel once travel restrictions are lifted and universities are open and accepting international students. 

The following universities will be hosting a QECS award:

  • University of Johannesburg

  • Rhodes University

  • University of Stellenbosch

  • University of Venda

  • North-west University

  • Tshwane University of Technology

  • University of Pretoria

  • Papau New Guinea University of Technology

  • University of Namibia

  • University of Colombo

  • University of Sri Jayewardenepura,

  • University of the South Pacific

  • Fiji National University

Here are some of the requirements of this scholarship:

  • Applicants must apply for a QECS award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship.

  • There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award.

  • You must have already completed your degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application. As part of the application process you will be asked to provide a copy of your final transcript and degree certificate.

  • QECS awards are only for new students and cannot be used to fund a course that has already been started.

  • QECS are available for master's degrees only (2 years)

Applicants, please check with your preferred university to ensure you meet the entry requirements for your chosen courses.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page